Over the Rainbow Charm Swap 2 is Here!!

It’s here, it’s here! Enter your info below and you are on your way to a swappy swap!

This swap is now closed. Thanks so much for participating!
Here are the details….

1. I’m looking for 56 {1 being myself} participants to swap 2 yards of different modern fabric {1 yard of 2 different cuts of fabric}.

2.  Because this is a rainbow swap, I will be assigning everyone a designated color of fabric to purchase.  Please purchase 1 yard of 2 different pieces of fabric from your assigned color. Colors will be assigned after the swap is full. I am going to see what everyone’s favorite colors are and the 8 most popular colors will be assigned for the swap!

3.  Choose a fabric that has a small repeat and/or print.  The scale of the repeat and/or print is very important…remember bigger isn’t always better and in this case, smaller is definitely better. If you choose a pattern that is too large, it may not translate well due to such a small square size!

4.   Cut into 5″ X 5″ charms.  you will cut each yard of your fabric into 56 charms…so you will be responsible for 112 charms.  please refer to elizabeth hartman’s tutorial on cutting the charms. To help in the sorting process, you can take your two different fabrics, and once they are cut, group them in twos (so one charm from each print) and stair stack them.

5.  Fabric must be designer label, 100% cotton, quilt shop quality fabric.  Please no Hancocks, Joanns or Michael’s fabric.  I want to make sure the quality of everyone’s charms are consistent and your finished product has a great feel!

6.  Fabric must be new, unwashed and must come from a smoke-free environment.

7.   Once your fabric is cut, please place it in a ziploc bag and include an index card with your name, email address and physical address…just to be on the safe side.

8.  I’ll be using flickr to manage our swap…so if you’re not on flickr, please join {you don’t have to be active to participate, and it’s so easy to use!} as we will be posting our fabric choices so that we are less likely to have duplicates. It’s exciting to see what everyone posts as well!

9.  This is very important…please mail your charms in a self-addressed-stamped-envelope by April 20th. {sorry…this swap is for US residents only.}

Once the swap is full, an e-mail will go out with additional information!

31 thoughts on “Over the Rainbow Charm Swap 2 is Here!!

  1. Hi Elyse — Hope I made the cut! After I hit “send”, I realized that there is a typo in my flickr ID. It sould be”mikiconnell”.

    Thanks!

  2. Is this a different swap? I thought I was already swapping with you. Better be, I mailed my fabric a few days ago. 😉

    If it *is* a different one, I’d be happy to participate, if there’s still room!

  3. I am excited. Hope I’m in. I’ve never done this before, but I’m sure you will help me through it. I hope you don’t mind a newbie…
    Carla

  4. Hi, I came over from Bianca’s blog. I’m signed up for her charm swap and for yours – I hope it’s okay to do both. Apparently I’ve decided to build a stash soley out of charm’s cause this will be my fourth. Really looking forward to it! Good luck with the new blog – I became a subscriber and will share with my friends to help out.

Leave a Reply

