Tula Pink Visits & A GIVEAWAY!

Last week I had the opportunity to go visit Ms. Tula Pink at the recently re-opened shop The Little General (previously Karen Gray shop) in Winston. She had an event that evening discussing her design process and was in the shop for 2 hours for a book signing. The shop is amazing….it’s bright, welcoming, quaint, warm…I could go on! Just check out the pics!

Two of these chandeliers were lighting up the store. I fell in love. Can you picture that hanging in your dream sewing room? I can…

They had all ‘pink’ candies set up for the signing also! A beautiful arrangement of flowers was warming the books as well.

 And then Tula herself! Don’t you dig her glasses? A few fun random facts I learned about Tula, she is almost always cracked out on coffee. We got some delish iced coffee from a cute shop around the corner and that was cup number 3 for her…and she was just getting started. Second fact, she isn’t a fan of hot food; likes all of her food cold. Who knew? Now, don’t you feel better that you know this about Tula? I thought so….

 Oh but back to the reason why I went! For the book signing, duh. I just happened to have an extra book with me for her to sign soooo that means one is up for grabs! Yes, comment below to hopefully have your name randomly selected for a copy of Tula’s new book, Quilts from the House of Tula Pink. Comment with what your favorite summer reading material is…and don’t say 50 Shades of Grey…because let’s face it, it’s all the buzz right now and everyone I know is reading it. And yes, I’m on book two. You can enter the giveaway until this Friday, the 15th until noon, EST.

 

 Good luck with the GIVEAWAY!!!

32 thoughts on “Tula Pink Visits & A GIVEAWAY!

  1. Usually I go for magazine or quick reads during the summer because we’re so busy. This summer I want to work through the Sookie Stackhouse books (True Blood). They’re fun and quick to read. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. I just finished “A Land More Kind than Home” by Wylie Cash. I didn’t want it to end. It is based in NC and by a NC Author. It was # 33 on the NY Times bestseller list upon its debut. Enjoy!

  3. What an absolutely gorgeous shop! You and Tula look so awesome together too!
    I just read the 50 Shades books, it took like a week to get through them all…. In the summer I like to read a lot so this summer I’ve vowed to finish the Jane Austen novels. I’m in a 3 down 2 to go situation 😉

  4. Oooh, a signed copy, and in pink! That would be so cool! I’m not going to be much help suggesting books, I tend to go through one every 2 or 3 days and can never remember what I’ve read. And a lot of it is military history, so not really light reading!

  5. My favorite summer read is something I can breeze through without much thinking…usually a little mystery or light romance. It is a refreshing change from the kind of reading I have to do during the school year. Thanks for the chance to win Tula’s book.

  6. I just started reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett. So far so good! I missed the movie when it was out in theatres, so I thought I would read the book and then rent the DVD. P.S. Go Tula Pink! Great store decor!

  7. P.S. I swear I’m not a copycat! How weird that the commentor right before me is also reading The Help because she missed the movie.

  8. I saw you post about this in the flickr AMH/Janome group! My summer reading is uh… “How to be an Adult in Relationships” nice light reading! Other than that I’m reading some modern quilting books and Apartment Therapy’s Big Book of Small Cool Spaces. Sheesh I need to go get some fiction ASAP! Thank you for the giveaway, I love Tula!

  9. I hope i am not too heavy with my suggestions and i am torn between the two each time i have reading time. ‘Kiss me. How to Raise Your Children With Love’ by Carlos Gonzales is a must for every parent and grandparent or anyone for that matter who works with children.
    The other is a little lighter and simply beautiful. “Camino” by Shirley Maclaine…i am loving both!
    I would love a copy of this book. Thank you for the chance.

  10. My summer reading is lots of magazines. Good Housekerping, Better Homes and Gardens, and of course LOTS of quilt magazines! With the boys out of school, I’m lucky to find time for that!

  11. I am in the process of applying for a job, so unfortunately my ‘reading’ right now is all academic/professional: environmental laws and regs to be exact. Not exactly pleasure reading, but it if it means I will be employed (and have $ to feed my fabric addiction) it is absolutely worth it. Thanks for the giveaway!

  12. How fun! I’m about to start reading the latest Janet Evonvich – Stephanie Plum books – “Explosive Eighteen”. I’ve read one chapter of Amanda Stevens “The Prophet” too and it seems like it would be a fun read. Waiting for vacation to really get some good reading in! Thanks for sharing!

  13. don’t you just love the Little General. I missed being able to see Tula.
    thanks for a chance to win her book.
    My reading consists of canning books at this time. I have a garden that is really taking off.

  14. Usually my summer read is a good romance, but this summer we are looking for a house (with a room to turn into a sewing room for my new passion). So I spend all of my free time cruising the internet, newspaper and roads looking for a home. But I would LOVE let me say it again LOVE to have this book. It would be the first book in my new sewing room!
    lisamcgriff(at)hotmail(dot)com

  15. I can’t wait for the sequel to A Discovery of Witches, which is like Harry Potter for adults. The book is coming out in July and I’m counting down the days. Otherwise, I like to read craft books during the summer because it’s the only time I have dedicated time to try out new patterns.

  16. Wow! Great pictures and such fun facts! I love learning weird things about people. Do you think the cold food rule still applies in winter? I would have to wear jackets constantly….
    I’m not into the 50 shades of grey at all…and probably won’t be. My recommendation is anything by Alexander McCall Smith. Especially the Ladies No. 1 Detective Agency. It’s set in Botswana and is a great series. Makes you love the world all over again and believe in people’s goodness. And it’s funny too. Hope you find a good book! Thanks for the chance, I’ve been holding off buying this one so maybe I won’t have to!! I hope 🙂

  17. Wow–that shop looks amazing! I would love to visit it! I am currently working through my stack of Jodi Picoult books. (trying to get them finished so my sister can borrow them when she comes to finish.) I really enjoyed the last two I read: “Handle with Care” and “Perfect Match.” Though, to be honest, I have enjoyed almost every book of hers that I have read.

  18. I just checked my public library this morning to see if they had this book–of course they don’t so I’d love to win a copy! It’s kind of corny but I just finished “Prairie Tale” by Melissa Gilbert. I was a big fan of “Little House on the Prairie” growing up so I enjoyed reading her memoir. I haven’t decided what to read next so I’ll be reading through your comments for suggestions!

  19. ha! reading… with summer comes summer vacations and all kids all the time. my reading these days consists of “if you give a mouse a cookie” and “the relatives came” and “those darn squirrels”… you get the idea. i’m really hoping to get to unbroken by laura hillenbrand. we’ll see how that goes…
    thanks for the giveaway chance!
    i missed the tula pink w-s/little general visit while at the beach. 😦

  20. I haven’t planned on any specific books for the summer, Always reading the paper and of course blogs 🙂 One book I read a few summers ago was Called the “memoirs of cleopatra” it was a historic fiction and really good, other than that I always read mystery novels but they are all so predicable after awhile.

  21. Well…you know what I’m reading right now 😉 and unfortunately it has been a VERY long time since I picked up a book but Safe Haven was good and then we could catch the movie together when it comes out. 🙂

  22. Well, at the moment I’m rereading the O’Malley series by Dee Henderson, but who knows what else I’ll have read by summer’s end. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway!!

  23. Oh, I have so many summer reads on my list! The Hunger Games Trilogy, Perks of Being a Wallflower, Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (again), Branded by Tim Sinclair, and Shades of Gray by Andy Holloman ( no, it’s definitely NOT the 50 Shades, or anything close!) I am usually in the middle of 2-3 books, unless it’s something that grips me from the start, so here’s hoping!

  24. I just finished Little Bee. Love. Hunger Games is on my bedside table. I’m reading a collection of short stories edited by David Sedaris (the stories are not wildy comical, though), and I’ve got The Lifeboat: a novel, waiting for me at the library. That should hold me for a while!

  25. Pingback: Raleigh Road Trip | Elyse Susan Design

Leave a Reply

